98 N Willard Avenue
Step back in time with this very special slice of local history! This quintessential 1925 Craftsman Bungalow in Shasta Hanchett Park is loaded with charm!
Craftsman homes are an American architectural tradition that emerged and spread primarily between 1900 and 1929. Craftsman architecture was an aesthetic reaffirmation of the beauty of natural materials and forms, and the marvels of what humans can make with their own hands.
Random river stone columns flank steps leading to an inviting elevated sitting porch. High ceilings with plaster dentil detail, faithful reproductions of the original bungalow lighting in the living area and elegant curved coved ceilings in the front bedroom.
One of the elements that makes Craftsman homes feel inviting to live in is the extensive use of woodwork. This includes thick wood framed windows and doors; built-in bookshelves, window seats and other custom millwork. Original built-in glass bookcases, china hutch and kitchen display cabinets improve the usability of interior space. Period wainscot with intricate trim detail and wood-burning fireplace.
While Craftsman designs were focused on simplicity and functionality, they nonetheless feature more attention to detail and built-in character than today’s streamlined, minimalist contemporary designs.
Craftsman interiors are built to be cozy, homey, unpretentious, and warm. Unlike today’s typical open-plan spaces, they feature distinct living and dining spaces; small eat-in kitchen nooks; and a traditional, human-scaled space plan. Living and dining rooms are typically anchored by one or two fireplaces as central room features, which may be clad in brick or tile.
A generous deep lot may provide you the opportunity incorporate an ADU with the new City of SJ standards. Please check with the city. Updated electrical, plumbing and heating.
Located nearby Google's proposed Downtown West development with plans to include restaurants, shops, open spaces, cultural centers and entertainment hubs. The vibrant Alameda Business District and historic Rose Garden are nearby.
The Alameda is a historic residential corridor that’s gone through an urban revival – it’s a great place for visitors to stop, explore and enjoy food and drink. The neighborhood’s 200-year history is evident by its historic structures and connection to the El Camino Real “the Royal Road,” which leads to Mission Santa Clara on the Santa Clara University campus.
You’ll find plenty of options in The Alameda when it comes to unique wine and craft beer. Stop by a tasting room at J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines (free wine tastings seven days a week) and Coterie Cellars (serving $10 flights from their vineyards in Russian River Valley and the Santa Cruz Mountains), or enjoy a craft beer at Mission Creek Brewery Co. at Whole Foods Market – all three are within walking distance of each other. For the indecisive drinker, Wine Affairs is a must, serving a carefully curated menu of local wine and beer.
The food scene in The Alameda provides a flavorful blend of upscale and casual dining environments. Zona Rosa offers a twist on traditional Mexican cuisine, Tee Nee Thai Cuisine is one of San Jose’s top-rated Thai eateries, and Bluefin Sushi & Japanese Restaurant serves up delicious sushi and noodles.
Wherever you find yourself on The Alameda, its proximity makes it a perfect place to stop before a San Jose Sharks game or concert at the SAP Center. And if you’re in town for the Fourth of July, be sure to check out the Rose, White and Blue Parade, held every year. The parade is a revival of the historic Rose Carnival of 1896, later known as The Fiesta de Las Rosas Parade in the 1920s. Enjoy an old-fashioned family-style parade featuring live bands, dance groups, floats, antique cars and more.
Shasta Hanchett Park
The Shasta Hanchett Park neighborhood in San Jose, California, is located just west of the downtown area. The neighborhood includes four areas: Shasta Hanchett Park, Garden Alameda, St. Leo’s, and Cahill Park. Shasta Hanchett Park is a unique combination of residential, commercial, and industrial areas.
Shasta Hanchett Park occupies land that was owned by Mission Santa Clara de Asís and Roberto Balermino. The land between Mission Santa Clara and the Guadalupe River, Rancho El Potrero de Santa Clara, served as pasturage for the mission’s herd of several thousand cattle. In 1844, Los Coches Rancho, a Mexican colloquialism for “The Pigs,” was granted to Roberto Balermino, a Native American educated at the Mission Santa Clara, by Governor Manuel Micheltorena. In 1847 Balermino sold his land to Antonio Suñol. Suñol divided the ranch into thirds, keeping one-third for himself, giving a third to his daughter Paula and her husband Pierre (also known as Pedro) Sainsevain, and selling the remaining third to Henry Morris Naglee.
The Alameda, which bisects Shasta Hanchett Park, is part of El Camino Real, Spanish for the “Royal Road” or “King’s Highway,” the first true road in California. It connected the 21 missions, 4 presidios and 3 pueblos of Alta California. The Alameda, Spanish for “tree lined street,” has served as a transportation corridor between San Jose and Santa Clara for over 200 years. In 1799 hundreds of willow trees were planted by 200 Native Americans under the direction of Father Magin Catala. By providing a pleasant, shady walk Father Catala hoped to encourage the pueblo residents to attend mass at the Mission. In 1862 Hiram Shartzer’s Turnpike Road Company improved The Alameda and began operating it as a toll road. The cost of maintaining the road, especially in the winter months when it became very muddy, was too much and the road was sold to the County of Santa Clara in 1868. Later The Alameda was home to stately Victorian Mansions and beautiful gardens.
The Alameda also served as a thoroughfare for many forms of public transportation. In 1850 a stagecoach made the nine-hour trip between San Jose and San Francisco, via The Alameda, three times a week. The San Jose and Santa Clara Railroad Company was founded in 1868 and began laying tracks for a horsecar line from San Jose to Santa Clara via The Alameda. The horsecar made its inaugural 45 minute journey on November 1, 1868. Twenty years later, The San Jose and Santa Clara Railroad Company began constructing an underground electric trolley line. When completed, the mechanical problems were so frequent that service was suspended and the horsecars returned. In 1889 the underground electric system was removed and replaced with an overhead electric system that ran up and down The Alameda until the mid 1930s, when the system was replaced by buses.
The east side of Shasta Hanchett Park, near the railroad tracks, was mostly industrial and included business such as California Canners and Growers, Fredericksburg Brewery, Muirson Label Company, CalPak Plant #51, and Union Ice. The Fredericksburg Brewery began in 1869 when Gottfried Frederick Krahenberg opened a brewery in a small brick building on the corner of The Alameda and Cinnabar Street. In 1872 Theodore Lenzen designed a castle-like brewery and malt house that were built on the same site. In 1888 Fredericksburg produced 53,000 barrels of beer. Fredericksburg ceased production in September of 1918, shortly after the city of San Jose passed a “pre-Prohibition” ordinance. This law allowed for the sale of beer and wine in restaurants only and the city issued 17 permits to restaurants for this privilege. After Prohibition was repealed, San Francisco brewer Jonny Wieland purchased the “castle” brewery. In the 1950s Falstaff Brewing Corporation bought the building, but later moved production to their San Francisco plant. The building was torn down in 1980. At the opposite end of the block, Muirson Label Company operated on Stockton Avenue between Lenzen Avenue and Cinnabar Street from 1914 to 1970. California Packing Corporation, which later became the Del Monte Corporation, Plant #51 on the former White Street, processed and packed dried fruit.
Between 1859 and 1901 the 76 acres of land situated between The Alameda, Race Street, Park Avenue, and Hester Avenue was known as Agricultural Park. Operated by the Santa Clara County Agricultural Society, the park served as the county fairgrounds and hosted livestock fairs, fancy dress balls, traveling circuses, and exhibitions for everything from fruit to quilts. It included a horseracing track, bicycle velodrome (track), baseball fields, and picnic grounds. During to the depression of the 1890s, the park was too expensive to maintain and the land was sold to Peninsula Land & Development Company, headed by Lewis E. Hanchett, in 1901.
In 1905 Lewis E. Hanchett acquired the former Agricultural Park from the Peninsula Land & Development Company. He decided to sub-divide the land to develop a “desirable” neighborhood. The sales brochure stated, “We challenge comparison with any subdivision offered anyplace on the Peninsula, as far as quality of the improvements and location of tract are concerned.” The amenities included electric streetlights, flush toilets, and a septic tank sewer system. Residents bought a lot and then commissioned an architect to design a home that met Hanchett’s design standards. Most of the homes were built between 1915 and 1930.
Shasta Hanchett Park continues to be a thriving community of residents and businesses, concerned with preserving their neighborhood’s history and character.
Saturday => August 13 - 1 to 4pm
Sunday => August 14 - 1 to 4pm
Additional Showings by Appointment:
Contact Patrick Johnson
Realtor® GRI, SRESInspiring Dreams... One Yard at a Time.Keller Williams Silicon ValleyDRE# 01381622(408) 410-9139 officewww.dreamsbytheyard.com